solo | 1987



Year: 1987

Duration: 4'

Instrumentation: va

Program Notes

Programme Note on Sirato by John Buckley

Sirato (Lament) is a short piece for solo viola composed in 1987 and first performed by Niamh Ní Channain in November 1991 in the National Concert Hall in the first ever Mostly Modern concert series.

In its melodic inflection and decorative elaboration the piece draws on characteristic elements of Irish traditional music. The melancholic melodic musings of the opening and closing sections flank a more animated, agitated and angular short central section. The deep, dark and dolorous sonority of the viola seemed an ideal medium for the music’s expressive requirements.




‘Sirato’ for solo viola performed by Gabriela Vermehlo.